When All Is Well Within

     This is one of my earliest poems and thinking back now, I’m not exactly sure what the inspiration for it was. I do know that it was written at a time of sadness and personal loss for me and my family with the passing, in a short span, of four people dear to us, with the last being my mother on May 9th 2009. Perhaps I was looking forward to the time when the sorrow would ease and I once again could feel at peace. As I read it again now, it seems to me that I may have been looking for an escape from the events of the first five months of that year, and yet deep inside knowing that all things, good and bad, will pass with time. If you hold on to the peaceful and let go of the turmoil, then all will be well within.

         Be well this Sunday my friends,

Jake.

It matters not the course you sail..

It matters not the course you sail..

              WHEN ALL IS WELL WITHIN

               How gentle are the breezes

              when all is well within,

                 for peaceful minds at rest

                  can tame the howling wind.

            *

                When life’s tensions fade to black

                 and your thoughts return to calm,

                   zephyrs whisper in your ear,

                   “no one will do you harm.”

          *

                    It matters not, the course you sail

                    to walk upon that shore,

                     with the rocks and shoals behind

                    the tempest is no more.

                   ***

                      Jack Downing

                 May 2009

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be

reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 6/30/13    

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in demise, Earth and Us, Family, history, life, Mother, oceans, peace, poet, tranaquility and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When All Is Well Within

  1. Denise Downing says:

    Great poem.

    Can’t wait to walk the beach late in the day and then see what you create.

    Can’t wait for you to come down!

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

