Where Are The Answers?

Where Are The Answers?

So many questions on life are asked

but to our own particular soul

like, how many minutes are there left

until I’ve heard my final toll?

*

Will I be at peace then at the end

or will I suffer grand?

And will everyone that I have loved

forgive and understand?

*

Have I done enough for those

who have really needed me?

And if not then why, I ask myself

have I sailed a selfish sea?

*

Do I deserve the life that I have lived

without many a tear or strife?

Do I deserve the love and care

of my family, friends and wife?

*

Though what lies ahead is mystery

so too, were all my days before

and when only hope and prayers are left

what awaits beyond that final door?

*

Is there a Heaven and or a Hell

that shall beckon for my spirit

and if, which place, shall I be called

shall I then rejoice or fear it?

*

But, as I think upon these things

I realize that these are questions

that offer me more than a doubtful life

and have now become suggestions!

 *

For as long as we can change for good

and our life’s bell has a tone

and if it peals each day without an end

then, can we not atone?

*

Still then I ask this of myself

when I deem that as solution

am I just grasping at a phantom wind

or merely self-absolution?

***

Jack Downing

Feb. 2017

Copyright© Jack Downing aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed, written consent of the author. JRD. 2/8/17

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in demise, Family, fleeting time, heart and soul, honesty, incumbrances, inner satisfaction, Life's Journey, lifetime, mortal coil, reception, reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Where Are The Answers?

  1. John 3:16 banishes all doubt. Simply believe. We have that assurance of heaven through nothing we do, but of God’s gift.

    Many blessings upon you, Jake. It’s good to have you back here writing.

    • Once in a while I still get the “inspiration” to say something lately, and I do write but not publish very much. But my health has been somewhat of an issue for a bit and the pressing desire to write hasn’t been so pressing. Thanks for the kudo’s though.Audrey.

  2. I figured it was your health that kept you from writing posts. Please know that you are held up in prayer here in Minnesota.

Leave a Reply

