The Journey Beckons

     I have not ceased to be nor write, nor to be somewhat contrite, for my leisure in posting on this here blog and for that I blame not spell nor grog.     The cause of course is of no concern to you who’d wish my words to burn   but to the faithful tis this I say, “I hope you enjoy this poem today”! 

I came to search for answers but only questions do I find!

I came to search for answers but only questions do I find!

The Journey Beckons

Awakened a’fore the rise

of dawn

and the fowl’s young

so fresh to spawn

I sit upon the ocean’s shore

and dream of what’s to be,

of where and why my journey winds

and naught one bit on tides and times

but solely on the wanderings of me.

What events of yore have brought

me here

to this peaceful, placid site

so dear,

and brought about the wanting need

of which I now demand to know?

Why here, this place, safe as a womb

or perhaps as final as the tomb

of those who rest below?

But, why do I ponder where I am

and not on where I’ll be

as if my journey has no more

and here’s the end of me?

Because there are many roads ahead

that call to me by name.

And I must heed their beckoning

and travel without reckoning

as I have from whence I came.

***

Jack Downing

Nov. 2016

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed, written consent of the author. JRD. 11/2/16

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in demise, early risers, journey, life, peace, poet, Poetry, sailors, seafarers, the shore and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Journey Beckons

  1. How are you, Jake?

    I just read your “If God should ask me why…” Love it.

  2. Sarah Kelley says:

    Please know this is wonderful. Peace to you my friend.

  3. One of your best poems. Beside the contemplation it was melodic like a song. Perhaps poems are indeed songs.

  4. Thank you Carl, this is a very fine and flattering comment. I appreciate your continued support. Best wishes to you and your family for a safe and happy Thanksgiving.

  5. Getting to the mailbox in the front yard and back is all the journey I can handle these days.

  6. Denise Downing says:

    Wow

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

