REFLECTIONS (Page Twenty)

    I haven’t posted any of these for quite some time, so in an effort to lighten the mood some, I give you Reflections (Page Twenty)

   Have a great week everyone, but don’t take it too seriously,

Jake.

REFLECTIONS

(page twenty)

***

I stand alone to gaze upon

my days and years gone by.

I’ve laughed, I’ve cried,

I’ve loved and loathed,

but now, I can’t remember why

…………………………………………………………………………

When Chicago and Detroit have gone away

and all that’s left is rubble

there is no doubt that some will say;

’twas George Bush

that caused the trouble!

……………………………………………………

The smile and the laugh

are gifts from above,

given us by the angels

to share our joy and love.

……………………………………………………..

Friendship, as a deck of cards

has oh, so many faces

there are jokers, queens and kings

but in my deck, they’re all aces.

…………………………………………………………….

Most whines are made

from sour grapes.

……………………………………………………………

Some people change as does the tide

the narrows then are now the wide

the curly-haired are now the bald

but the short ones then are still not tall.

……………………………………………………………..

It is said that seniors citizens are lacking in patience

When in fact we are actually gaining intolerance

***

~Jack Downing~

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All Rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed, written consent of the author. JRD. 2/8/16

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in fleeting time, history, honesty, humor, life, old days, poet, reflections, spiritual, thoughts, truth and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to REFLECTIONS (Page Twenty)

  1. adeeyoyo says:

    Very clever Jake. I love them all, but especially the last one 😀

  2. Thank you Denise, that was written directly from personal experience.lol

  3. Denise Downing says:

    Excellent honey

    Sent from my iPad

  4. Thank you for the laughter this morning, Jake. I like the visuals in the deck of cards poem.

Leave a Reply

