Thanksgiving Day 2015

May the Good Lord bestow on you all, His grace and His blessings on this day and throughout the entire Holiday Season..

Jake. 

Praise Ye Oh Lord, for Thy Bountiful Blessings.

Praise Ye Oh Lord, for Thy Bountiful Blessings.

Thanksgiving Day 2015

For what should I be thankful

on this Thanksgiving Day?

Have I been without worry

or has wealth come my way?

Has my health thus returned

to like “back in the day”

or has my hair now since lost

some, or all of its gray?

Has my memory been increased

or my bones less to ache?

Have I attained some fine land

or a cottage by a lake?

Has the government told me

we’ll give more than we take”?

So, for what should I be thankful

I ask for Heaven’s sake?

*

Well, my worries are fewer

than many a folk,

I still have some of my wits

and can still tell a good joke.

I’ve not suffered an attack

nor had a crippling stroke

and I’m still able to write

so I’ve not yet to croak!

I have my friends and a family

who cares and who loves

I have at least a warm hat

a coat and some gloves.

And though I may be more “hawkish”

than I am a “dove”

For all that I have or I am

I thank my God up above!

***

Jack Downing

Nov. 2015

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!

©Copyright Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed, written consent of the author. JRD. 11/25/15

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Americana, Family, Feast, God, history, humor, life, poet, Seasons, thoughts, U.S. Government, wealth and worth and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thanksgiving Day 2015

  1. I always enjoy your poetry. Hawish, huh? I like that word.

    A most blessed and Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family, Jake!

  2. Sally says:

    Great poem (as usual) thank you and I wish you and yours a great day! Please tell Warren the same please…stay safe .

    • Thank you Sally and the Happiest of Thanksgivings to you and your family. Warren seems to be incommunicado at the moment. When last I spoke to him his voice was pretty rough and he had about 7 more treatments to go. I tried calling him on Tues. to wish him the best for Thanksgiving but his mailbox was full (no surprise) so I texted him. Still no reply. I pray that he is well. He’s going to be a grandfather next month, his son Nick and his wife are expecting. Best wished to you and I hope you are keeping well yourself.

Leave a Reply

