Just A Few Thoughts I’ve Had

     These may give you a look inside my befuddled mind.

     Thanks for visiting,

Jake. 

Random Thoughts and Other Stuff

Each morning brings a brand new day

and only in God lies the final say

to if or not, one more be passed

so live today like it is your last

………………………………………………………………

 Ben Franklin said

that “Haste Makes Waste.”

But after a look in the mirror

I’d say that; “Taste Makes Waist!”

………………………………………………………………

I once had a duck

a goose,

and a rooster.

But I liked the goose best,

it was my biggest booster.

…………………………………………………………………

Man and beast

are friends at least,

until it’s time

for man to feast.

………………………………………………………………………

I stand alone to gaze upon

my days and years gone by.

I’ve laughed, I’ve cried,

I’ve loved and loathed,

but now, I can’t remember why! 

……………………………………………………………..

I believe in assistance

to the needy,

but I detest the enabling

of the greedy.

For without self-respect

that comes from earning the check,

soon develops and fosters

the seedy.

………………………………………………………………………

Liberty demands for our attention,

for freedom’s tethered not, to you and me.

Expecting always, without doubt, its retention,

is folly, and a peril to the free.

……………………………………………………………………………….

You can educate,

the illiterate.

As well, the uninformed.

But ignorance is

the greater task,

for it takes on,

so many forms.

……………………………………………………………………

~Jack Downing~

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD. 6/4/15

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in humor, in my opinion, interjections, life, poet, reflections, thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Just A Few Thoughts I’ve Had

  1. You have been thinking pretty hard lately.

  2. Thanks Audrey, but unfortunately these are not at all new, but merely snippets of my many “Interjections”, “Reflections” and “Recollections” that I have in my “archives” and I am really not doing very much writing these days. But again, thank you for your comment.

  3. We all pass through these periods when creativity is stilled, perhaps by something, someone, or simply the need to take a break. I am confident that you will regain your writing.

  4. Thanks Audrey I hope so, it has been a while since I have had any prolonged inspiration.

  5. yearstricken says:

    I really like the “Taste makes waist” line.

  6. Thank you YS.. I appreciate your comment, and you know I appreciate your blog.

  7. At our age just having a few thoughts in the first place is an accomplishment.

Leave a Reply

