My Father Who Art In Heaven

Last week when I published “A Mother’s Gift” I said I would re-post something that would honor my father as well, but instead, I wrote the following. As you will undoubtedly see, I took my inspiration from “The Lord’s Prayer” which I hope will not offend anyone.

Have a safe and joyful Sunday,

Jake.

My Father Who Art In Heaven

To my father, who art in heaven

hello, I think you know my name

for I am your son

and since you’ve been gone

I’ve found

the meanings of your lessons.

For since then and to, this very day

I repeat the words you said.

*

But, I ask that you forgive my youth

for I did not understand.

For, I know now, it was those words

that have led to me, the man.

Yes, you delivered mightily

upon you solemn vow

and all your wisdom, thought then, a waste

is residing in me now.

Amen.

***

Jack Downing

May 12, 2015

*

In Memory of:

Frederick W. Downing

Sept. 28th 1917 – May 7th 1969

WW II Veteran, U.S. Army

Rest in Peace Dad.

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD. 5/17/15

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in demise, Elders, Father, God, history, military/veterans, old days, Sunday and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Father Who Art In Heaven

  1. It sounds like you had a wonderful dad. Lovely tribute.

    • Thank you Audrey. I didn’t always appreciate his contribution to my “formative years” but I have come to realize that it was his input that became the very foundation of who I am today.

  2. Oh, yes, with aging comes wisdom and we understand what our parents told us/did/how they raised us…

  3. Oh, so true Audrey… The wisdom of youth is false wisdom
    for their journey has merely begun
    and ’tis only the experience of good times and bad
    that will enlighten both daughter and son.
    ~Jake~

  4. Denise Downing says:

    Beautiful

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

