A Mother’s Gift

     Six years ago today my mother passed from this world and into God’s arms, and I miss her dearly. The following is a tribute to her and a true and honest testament of her teachings to myself and my brothers and sister on life and love. Ironically my father passed on the exact same date forty years previously and I will re-print something in his honor later this week.

     I have posted this before, and I feel as strongly about it today as when I published it for the first time, perhaps even more so.

     May God keep her always in the peace and comfort that is Eternal Life.

    Please enjoy this and remember those who have made us what and who we are,

Jake.

Thank you for being such a wise and loving mother..

Thank you for being such a wise and loving mother..

A Mother’s Gift

You filled a space

no other could,

you taught me always

think the good,

of those I meet

along the way,

and that sunrise brings

a whole new day.

To dwell not upon

a hurt or slight,

and let the heart decide

the wrong or right,

of what I do

or what is done,

then let it go

with the setting sun.

But, of all the lessons

I have learned,

there’s but one, upon

my soul’s been burned,

there is no stronger

force on earth,

nor gift, of any

greater worth

than a mother’s love

that’s given free,

to each of us

for eternity,

and wavers not

in life or death,

for it never takes

a final breath.

***

Jack Downing

May 2009

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD  5/7/15

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Family, God, history, Irish descent, Mother, Nana, old days, peace, Promise Land and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Mother’s Gift

  1. What a beautiful tribute to your dear mother. You are so correct that a mother’s love never wavers, always endures. I am sorry for the loss of your mother and your father, too, all those decades earlier.

  2. Janice Delaney says:

    Sorry to hear about Gregg’s Dad……always so tough to lose parents. We were also at a funeral this morning…..and got stuck on 495 for 45 min with a rollover – not us, someone else! We got to the church just in time for communion – I almost didn’t get credit for getting up at 5:30a to be there – but we finally made it. Frustrating though.

    I often think of your Mom – even when you’re not writing poems about her. She was a great lady, so full of fun and concerned for others……traits she passed on to all of you. Love to Beth too.

    Jan

    >

    • It is hard not to think of the good times we all had and the people who were most responsible for them. Our parents really knew how to have fun didn’t they? Your mom and dad were so inviting to all of us who were fortunate enough to visit the “Barony on Bear Hill Road”.. lol I’m glad that you got all of the credit that anyone deserves for getting up at 5am.

  3. My mother died Sept 17, 2012. One day yelling at father to keep up with cart and the grocery store and next day in hospital stage 4 cancer massive throughout. I was her home hospice nurse and moved a bed to sleep next to her each night. She lasted 5 weeks. We were not close but during that time I found she was indeed close to me in her own way. She was so brave. Not a day goes by that I am not haunted by certain things. She used to blow kisses to me as though she was drifting from the dock on a cruise ship. Half hour after she passed a tear formed and fell from her left eye. During that time her face transformed into that of her mother. This and more keeps me constantly astir. Recently I played the 9-1-7 as was her death date. It hit. Seems mother sent me $500 that day.

    • And the Phoenix too did rise from the ashes.. It is indeed a sad thing to watch what cancer can do the the human body, but it is a true tribute to the human spirit that how much stronger sometimes, those afflicted are, than those affected by it. Keep playing that number, she’ll be with you always..

Leave a Reply

