The Money Tree

    The following is a mixture of fantasy, folly, humor and humility, wrapped up in a moral.

     What if,,, money did grow on trees?

    Enjoy,

Jake.

Happiness must be planted in the heart.

Happiness must be planted in the heart.

The Money Tree

I’ve wondered how different

my life would be,

if in fact I owned,

that fabled money tree.

Of all the things

that I could buy,

but, the first be a wall

a hundred feet high.

The second a gardener

to keep it alive,

and the third be the guards

with an AR-5.

Oh, yes there’ll be change

for sure, in my life

and to that of my then,

soon future ex-wife.

Yes, she’ll get her half,

for that is the law

but for its care and its maintenance

she’ll ne’er raise a paw.

And she’ll laugh in my face

all the way to the bank.

Then drive off in her sports car

with her boyfriend named Frank.

While I sink alone

to a paranoid depth

afraid of my shadow

and my Pit Bull named “Death”.

Trusting no person,

not family nor foes

for they’re all out to get

what my money tree grows.

So I’ll sit by my window

with a gun in my hand

and think of my poor days

and how they now seem, so grand!

***

Jack Downing

Dec. 2014

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD. 1/17/18

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in dog, Gardens, gun, humor, husbands and wives, joy and sorrow, Make Believe, old days, Seven Deadly Sins, wealth and worth and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Money Tree

  1. Beth Ann says:

    I don’t know if a money tree would solve all the problems in the world but it might be a start……

  2. Denise Downing says:

    Good one

    Great game

    Green bay game was gut wrenching

    Sent from my iPad

  3. How much do seeds cost ? Or would you take a % of harvest later on?

  4. While the seeds of avarice yield bitter fruit, my friend, we can negotiate.

Leave a Reply

