Nephew Of My Uncle Sam

           “I pledge allegiance to the flag of the United States of America and to the Republic for which it stands, one nation, under God, with liberty and justice for all.”

Long May It Wave

Long May It Wave

Nephew of My Uncle Sam

You gotta take me

as I be

’cause there ain’t no

changin’ me

and you know

I’m really proud

of who I am.

I was born in the land

of the free

and I thank the Lord

you see,

that I’m a red-blooded,

blue-collar,

nephew of my Uncle Sam.

*

Now I ain’t ashamed

to say

I pledge allegiance

every day,

to the flag

and Republic

for which it stands.

And it’s under God

for me,

as I still need His help

you see

’cause I’m a red-blooded,

blue-collar,

nephew of my Uncle Sam.

*

I was raised to respect

that flag

and I’ve served

but I won’t brag,

still I feel

because of that,

I’m a better man.

From a general down

to a pfc

they can be found

on my family tree,

’cause we’re red-blooded,

blue-collar,

nephews of our Uncle Sam.

*

And so I will keep my right

to bear

and my opinions

I will share,

for freedom of speech

is my right,

I’m American.

Yes, I was born in the land

of the free

and I thank the Lord

you see,

that I’m a red-blooded,

blue-collar,

nephew of my Uncle Sam.

***

Jack Downing

Sept. 2014

Special thanks to Beth Ann Chiles for that beautiful photo above.

Jake.

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed, written consent of the author. JRD. 9/20/14

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Family, Freedom, God, help, history, land of the free, Liberty, Liberty, military/veterans and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Nephew Of My Uncle Sam

  1. Beth Ann says:

    Another wonderful patriotic tribute, Jake. Love your word and the sentiment.

  2. Thanks Beth Ann, this country has been so blessed by God and yet the vocal minority has been successful in eliminating any reference to Him in public venues and documents.. It is time that the Judeo/Christian majority speaks out, before it is too late. May God Bless America, once again!!

  3. Denise Downing says:

    Hi did you send to Buz

    Sent from my iPad

  4. I don’t have his email address.. I’ll copy it and send it to you by email and you can forward it to him.. You can tell him about poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. if you’d like.

  5. I’m a Yankee Doodle Dandy
    by George M. Cohan
    I’m a Yankee Doodle Dandy
    A Yankee Doodle, do or die
    A real live nephew of my Uncle Sam
    Born on the Fourth of July

    I’ve got a Yankee Doodle sweetheart
    She’s my Yankee Doodle joy
    Yankee Doodle came to London
    Just to ride the ponies
    I am the Yankee Doodle Boy

  6. My Father thanks you, my mother thanks you,,,,,

Leave a Reply

