THAT OLD BARN

     I was thinking of posting something today, and I came across this one that I had posted in June of 2013 and I was reminded of my friend Mary telling me about how an old barn had a special place in her youth. But, if you take the time to read the original and this version you’ll notice some changes, both in syntax and context, but I hope you don’t mind. I think this version is the better of the two, but please feel free to voice your opinion.

     Stay safe on this Sunday my friends,

Jake.

Remnants of a gentler time.

Remnants of a gentler time.

 THAT OLD BARN

That old, once berry-red barn,

scourged over time

by the whips of the wind

and the rain.

Once the symbol

of a flourishing farm,

is now reduced

to a skeletal frame.

*

The lofts, the walls and the floors

like the bones of the farmer himself,

are now sagging

through so many days.

And the burden of time

has taken its toll

through the bales

of many harvested hays.

*

And now gone is the equine,

the bovine and hog,

and the hay turned to straw,

blown away.

Gone too are the dreams

as gone as the dogs,

but still,

the old memories stay.

*

You see, it’s more to me

than just a barn or a structure

that’s collapsing

out of lack of repair.

It’s a reminder of summers

of a time long ago

and I visit my youth,

in there.

***

Jack Downing

May 2013

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 8/17/14

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Americana, Animals, cow, dog, Earth and Us, Life's Journey, old days, Summer, Sunday and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to THAT OLD BARN

  1. Mary says:

    Hi Jack, I don’t know if I’m the Mary you spoke of prior to your poem, but I had a great barn in my childhood. It was there that I helped tear it down under the direction of my best friend’s mother. We started on the roof and tore off board by board after that. Mrs P put an ad in “The Market Place” in the Globe and someone came by and hauled all the remnants away. I believe the ad said “Free fill”. And sure enough someone jumped on it. My only regret is that I don’t have a photo of that barn, although it’s etched in my mind. Thanks for jogging that memory.

  2. Oh yes, you’re the Mary for sure.. Wasn’t there something else about that barn?

Leave a Reply

