Life In A Nutshell

     A little more self-reflection from the fringe..

     Have a wonderful weekend everyone and a Happy Father’s day to all of the dads out there.

     Jake.

Where's the reflection pool? I have to pee!

Where’s the reflection pool? I have to pee!

 

A Life In A Nutshell

I’ve been a heel

more times than a hero.

I’m farther from a ten

than a zero.

If a vice president

I’d probably be Spiro.

Huh, and if Emperor,

no doubt, I’d be Nero.

*

I was never

an honor roll grad.

And I hardly look good

wearing plaid

But I’ve had more good times

than bad,

and I’ve been more happy

than sad.

*

So all in all then

I’d say,

maybe something like,

Ah, what the hey

so what, if my hair’s

turned to gray,

and I am what I am,

now Go Away!”

***

Jack Downing

Mar. 2014

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD. 6/13/14

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Elders, Father, history, humor, life, lifetime, old days, reflections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

