Pray For Me

     Just a little thought (and request) on a Sunday morning. I hope that all is well in your little corner of the world and that you will read and enjoy the following.

     Oh, and please don’t get the wrong idea from it, it is a hypothetical situation and in no way represents my state of (physical) health.. 

     May God bless us all,

Jake.

The Martha Mary Chapel, Sudbury Massachusetts.

The Martha Mary Chapel, Sudbury Massachusetts.

PRAY FOR ME

When you go to church

on Sunday,

and you’re prayin’

for those who sin,

pray for me, pray for me,

and pray for me again.

*

‘Cause it seems to me

the sinful things,

they’ve always tasted

oh, so fine.

So pray for me, pray for me,

then pray just one more time.

*

And I know these things

will hurt me,

they’ll hurt me

bad someday.

So pray for me, pray for me,

pray they don’t take my soul away.

*

So when you go to church

on Sunday,

and you’re prayin’

for those who sin,

pray for me, pray for me,

and pray for me again.

*

Of all the pleasures

of this world,

you know I’ve had

my share.

Pray for me, pray for me,

then say, another prayer.

*

Yes, I’ve tasted

of the fruits,

growin’ on

forbidden trees.

Pray for me, pray for me,

pray these eyes may someday see.

*

Now, they say my time’s

upon me,

and my Maker

I’ll soon meet.

Pray for me, pray for me,

pray He’ll have for me, a seat.

*

So when you go to church

on Sunday,

and you’re prayin’

for those who sin.

Pray for me, pray for me,

and pray again, He’ll take me in!

***

Jack Downing

May 2011

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD.

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in blessings, God, Kingdom, Promise Land, Seven Deadly Sins, spiritual and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pray For Me

  1. loopyloo305 says:

    Wonderful Jake! God bless you my friend!

  2. Thank you loopy, I hope this response finds you on your way to a full and speedy recovery..

  3. Beth Ann says:

    Love this one, Jake, and so appropriate for Sunday.

  4. yearstricken says:

    We could all do with a little prayer.

  5. Some of us, could use more than others.

Leave a Reply

