I’m Going Back To Jesus

     Well, guess who stopped by the other day, out of the blue and very well tanned? My old friend and mentor..  Reverend Jake. Yup, it had been quite a while since the Right Reverend had graced my humble abode with his presence, and when I asked him where he’d been for so long, he just smiled and said “Doin’ the work son, doin’ the work”. Then he went on to explain that for the past year or so he’d been on a vaca sabbatical to Tahiti in an attempt to “convert” the islanders. He then surprised me when he told me that during his extended stay at his ocean-front bungalow at the Tahiti Hilton,(courtesy of his “extremely generous” congregation of the church of Saint Cyber Space) he would often sing to the natives, one of my songs. Of course I was flattered, and I asked which one? And frankly, I was quite surprised to hear that is was this one. So much so, that I will share it with you now..

     I hope you enjoy it on this Sunday,

Jake.

I'm Going Back To Jesus

I’m Going Back To Jesus

 

I’M GOING BACK TO JESUS

 I’m going back to Jesus,

once again,

I’m going back to Jesus,

once again,

I’m going back to Jesus,

and to His fold,

He’ll take me in.

I’m going back to Jesus,

once again.

*

 I’m going to see the angels,

when I go,

I’m going to see the angels,

when I go,

I’m going to see the angels,

if the good Lord,

says it’s so.

I’m going to see the angels,

when I go.

*

 I’m going to see the saints now,

yes I am,

I’m going to see the saints now,

yes I am,

I’m going to see the saints now,

if that be,

God’s plan.

I’m going to see the saints now,

yes, I am.

*

 I’m going to live in heaven,

one fine day,

I’m going to live in heaven,

one fine day,

I’m going to live in heaven,

and for that,

is what I pray.

I’m going to live in heaven,

one fine day.

*

 I’m going to see my family,

when I’m there,

I’m going to see my family,

when I’m there,

I’m going to see my family,

and we’ll all live,

without a care.

I’m going to see my family,

when I’m there.

*

 So, I’m going back to Jesus,

once again,

I’m going back to Jesus,

once again,

I’m going back to Jesus,

and to His fold,

He’ll take me in.

I’m going back to Jesus,

once again.

*

 Yes, I’m going back to Jesus,

once again, once again,

I’m going back to Jesus,

once again,

I’m going back to Jesus,

and to His fold,

He’ll take me in.

I’m going back to Jesus,

once again.

***

 Jack Downing

July 2009

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed, written consent of the author. JRD 3/9/14

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Family, God, Kingdom, Promise Land, song writer, spiritual, Sunday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m Going Back To Jesus

  1. Beth Ann says:

    I have missed the Right Reverend! So glad to see his reappearance and know that he has been doing the Lord’s work –someone has to take those less desirable jobs and it sounds as if he got one of those. Great song –now let’s get us some music to it.

  2. Thank you so much sister Beth Ann. Reverend Jake does take on the tough challenges with gusto.. But as you know, I don’t know.. Bo Diddly about music. lol Thanks as always for being there.

  3. adeeyoyo says:

    I can actually hear them singing it – beautiful!

  4. Thank you so much Denise, if only I knew someone who could/would put it to music..lol

Leave a Reply

