Wishing My Life Away

     I am not writing much new material lately, so I have to resort to re-posting previous poems. Here is a prime example of one, that I like a lot.. I hope that you do as well.

   Have a superb week everyone,

Jake.

The Wishing Well

The Wishing Well

Wishing My Life Away

 My wish

is to live

for as long

as I give

a damn

about life

after all.

*

 And not one

minute past

after breathing

my last

to be heeding

a heavenly

call.

***

 Jack Downing

Feb. 2012

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD.  2/24/14

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in demise, humor, life, spiritual, wishing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wishing My Life Away

  1. Beth Ann says:

    Sometimes the oldies are the goodies. In this case that is very true. Sorry I have not been as regular around here lately. Trying to get back into the swing of things. Stay warm, my friend.

    • Trying to stay warm Beth Ann, but it’s not easy.. We had the lesser of two evils today, as a cold front pushed a snowstorm to the south of us.. Oy vey, vat a vinter! But you know all about this winter don’t you?

      • Beth Ann says:

        Unfortunately, yes I do. This has been one heck of a winter for almost everyone, I think. I am trying to stop complaining. At least I have a warm house….

      • We have a friend in Tennessee who has had an awful winter,, They got ice out of this last storm and her power is expected to be out for about four days.. She has just had open-heart surgery, she lives alone and she just filled her refrigerator yesterday.. She had a car accident which they think was caused by a heart attack and her car was totaled so she has no transportation to go to a hotel. My wife told her to call the local police and explain the situation and ask for a transport.. We don’t know as of yet if she did or not, but it sure makes it harder for me to complain about our winter woes..

Leave a Reply

