A True Man’s Passing

     Has it really been three years? How time does pass swiftly in retrospect! Rest in peace Mike Urban, you are remembered..

     May we all pause for just a moment today to remember someone who has been called home!

Jake.

Rest In Peace Mike

Rest In Peace Mike

A TRUE MAN’S PASSING

 The ground now holds,

within its embrace,

a man the like,

that legend, has trace.

Husband, companion,

father and friend,

and not, with a whimper,

did he march to the end.

*

 With, his head held high,

and a glass to his lip,

“a toast” said he,

some Jameson, all sip.

“ I drink to my family,

of which I’ve been blessed.

And I’ll thank God Himself,

as I go to my rest.”

***

 Jack Downing

Jan. 12, 2011

***

In Tribute to Mike Urban

1953-2011

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Firefighter, God, history, old days, peace, whiskey and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A True Man’s Passing

  1. 1111mu says:

    Yes hard to believe 3 years in some ways & in other ways life has changed so much in 3 years. Thanks so much for re-posting that wonderful tribute you wrote about him, “to family & to good friends!”

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • Our lives change as they must Mo, though the change is often subtle it is inevitable. I hope all is well with you and the family, I got a nice comment from Jan and I see that Bobby re-posted it as well… Happy New Year to all. God bless. Jake.

  2. Jodee says:

    You are right, life goes on but it is important to be thankful for every moment we have.

Leave a Reply

