The Captain Lives

    Here is another “I don’t want to grow up” themed poem for your reading pleasure.. They seem to come to me more and more as I “advance” in years. But now, if you will excuse me, my inner child is requesting some quality time, and a beer..

Have a wonderful Sunday everyone,

Jake.

The child knows not, the impossible dream!

The child knows not, the impossible dream!

The Captain Lives

Sailing o’er a clear blue sky

on a billowing snow-white cloud,

the magic rests in a child’s mind

unafraid to cry out loud.

I can fly, I can fly” says the voice inside

announced to all the world,

a captain true, with his flag aloft

now opened and unfurled.

And still beneath said banner rides

the conqueror of all things,

upon a sinewy steed of black

adorned with mighty wings.

 *

But soon enough that captain brave

becomes imprisoned by life’s demands

and will then become a slave instead

to maturity’s commands.

Yet, though that voice is dimmed by time

as the child moves beyond its years,

the voice inside remains awake

to challenge all our fears.

And only when those castle walls

are hitherto laid to waste,

will then the captain reappear

and must, with some great haste.

Jack Downing

Oct. 2013

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD.

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Animals, children, humor, life, Make Believe, old days and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Captain Lives

  1. Beth Ann says:

    i don’t want to grow up either! At all. Even though the body tells me daily that it is doing it whether I want it to or not. 🙂 As for beer—I will take a nice chardonnay instead!

Leave a Reply

