Horse Sense

     Okay, how about a little whimsy this morning? But beware the lies of the groom! 

     Here’s hoping no one puts a burr under your saddle today!

Jake.

In the front door out the back steal the horse and steal the tack.

In the front door out the back steal the horse and steal the tack.

Horse Sense

 For a dollar

my friend

to your horse

I will tend

and not for

one penny less.

I will curry

and comb

and treat

as my own

and on that I will swear

and profess.

I’ll give it the grain

and the feed

and all that

it needs

and even clean out the stall

of its mess.

Now you can believe

all these lies

but not if you’re wise

for in truth

I’ll do nothing

or less.

But climb

on its back

and making use

of your tack

I will make it my own

I’ll confess.

***

 Jack Downing

Sept. 2012

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 11/5/13

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Animals, humor, mischievious, old days, warning and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Horse Sense

  1. Beth Ann says:

    Whinnnny!!!!!! 🙂

    • If it’s whinny you say I’ll respond this a-way, that the donkey would call it a bray. And that only a ninny would call it a whinny so therefore I tell you neigh, neigh.

      Sorry it’s the best I could do on short notice.. lol

Leave a Reply

