The Evening Of All Souls

          From out of the annals, freshly edited and renamed. I hope you like it…..Bwaaaa Haaaa Haaaa Haaaa!!

Jake.

HAPPY

HALLOWEEN

EVERYONE!

Great Caesar's Ghost?

Great Caesar’s Ghost?

THE EVENING OF ALL SOULS

 The October day had surrendered to the dark,

when the winds of chill began to howl

and carried on its back a woeful bark,

followed by the warning of the owl.

 *

With shutters clapping rhythmic on the sides

the house began to waken in the night,

alerting me of what may be outside,

I arose to put the porch in light.

*

Putting mind to ease I then returned

to my long-awaited evening meal,

there in the pot, though slightly cooled,

still would nourish and thus my hunger heal.

 *

Then with the spoon but barely at my lips

there came a pounding loud, upon my door.

The fear, had journeyed fast from head to hips,

and frozen now, my feet seemed, to the floor.

*

Then came again that urgent, frightful sound

which stirred my mind back into action.

I rose slowly, yet still my heart began to pound,

as curiosity now demanded its satisfaction.

 *

What dread awaited me out in the night?

What hellish thing had put my heart to beat?

I unlatched and flung the door to face the fright,

and heard the gleeful yell of “trick or treat!”

 *

I had forgotten about the day of souls in pain

and the evening that passes in between,

that day and the next, of all the Saints.

The eve all children know, as Halloween.

***

 Jack Downing

Sept. 2009


Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD. 10/31/13

 

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Animals, ghosts, haunted house, humor, soul and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Evening Of All Souls

  1. Beth Ann says:

    Happy Halloween! Have a ghoulish day!

Leave a Reply

