The Good Shepherd

     It dawned on me yesterday that the good things in our lives come to us from Him. And most of the bad things of life, (excluding natural disasters which may be a warning) come from mankind itself. As I have stated many times here in this blog I am not a religious man per se, but I am a spiritual man and I am a believer in my God. The following is the result of those thoughts.

     Please enjoy,

Have a wonder-filled day, and may God Bless us all,

Jake.

The words of the Good Shepherd

The words of the Good Shepherd

 

The Good Shepherd

When He spoke unto the multitudes

He said, “heed My Father’s word.

for I come as His Good Shepherd,

to guide My Father’s herd.”

And He said, “If you follow in My footsteps

then I will lead you home,

unto to those greener pastures,

that the Hand of God has sown.”

*

He said, “to love thy neighbor

and to treat them as you’d want.

To turn a cheek once smitten

and forgive the hurtful taunt.

To envy not, the other man

for his goods and money gained.

And to help each other when in need

and be kind to one who’s pained.”

 *

Do these things in My Name

and ye shall live again

in glory and in righteousness

forever and amen.”

For how you treat each other

is how you’ll be received,

when you stand before The Father,

He’ll not be deceived!”

 *

Jack Downing

Oct. 2013

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD. 10/30/13

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Father, God, history, spiritual, The Commandments and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Good Shepherd

  1. I liked it very much. I would like to post it as a Wednesday guest post on my blog Lemme know if interested and if so perhaps we can both search for an appropriate illustration. Perhaps drop the s from words in line 2 so it matches herd in line 4 and change all the My to my small letter. Change Name to name line 17, rest is perfect. These are just suggestions and it is YOUR poem not mine so your’re the decider.

    • I don’t have a problem dropping the s in line two it doesn’t change the meaning of the poem and the singular form of the word can be perceived as to be plural as well.. But when Jesus is referring to (Him)self,(as he is God) I thought both My and Name capitalized were appropriate..As in the Holy Name etc. I will however be open to further discussion if you are so inclined. Thank you for the encouragement and the platitudes.

      • Your ideas are legitimate and sensible and qualify your intent which the reader may not always catch as was the case with me.

      • Thank you again my erudite friend.. I will try to e-mail you a picture, of myself which most likely will be appropriate of the day.. Halloween. But be kind and remember I’ll not be wearing a mask.. What you see is, what you get..

  2. Denise Downing says:

    Amen

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

