Where Did My Little Girl Go?

    Two years ago I posted this poem in honor of my daughter’s wedding. TWO YEARS? Are you kidding me? Now I’m starting to think that the title should be; “Where Does The Time Go?” Rachel and Gregg are celebrating their 2nd Anniversary this week and it brought this poem back to mind. I would like to add, that if you’re a father then you know that your daughter(s) hold a special place in your heart and that a little piece of that heart chips away on her wedding day. But, like the clipping taken from a beautiful plant, when it is properly nurtured and cared for, it will flourish once again on its own and it too will flower and grow. 

     Happy Anniversary Rachel and Gregg, 

Love,

Dad.

My Little Girl

My Little Girl

WHERE DID MY LITTLE GIRL GO?

 I never gave a single thought,

all those years ago,

when Barbie Dolls,

and Cabbage Patch Kids,

were the things, that pleased her so.

 *

No, I never, gave a single thought,

all those years ago,

of the bride I see,

in front of me.

Where, did my little girl go?

*

I remember, how she used to say,

“I get it,” at the ringing of the phone,

but, what tugged my heart, I’ll tell,

was when she’d yell,

“mommy, my daddy’s home.”

*

No, I never gave a single thought,

all those years ago,

of the bride I see,

in front of me.

Where did, my little girl go?

 *

Yes, my little girl, has gone away,

as all little girls, will do,

and another man,

now holds her hand,

and loves her, through and through.

*

So, though I never gave, a single thought,

all those years ago,

of the bride I see,

in front of me,

I still, love my little girl, so.

***

Jack Downing

August 20, 2011

Is His Girl Now.

Is His Girl Now.

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD.

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in fleeting time, husbands and wives, Life's Companion, Marriage, reflections and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Where Did My Little Girl Go?

  1. Very special and moving poem… Diane

  2. Mary says:

    I miss my father. Thanks for keeping him with me.

    • Mary, for all of us there are those whom we miss dearly and although this was a poem of life and its stages of growth, if any other worthwhile purpose is served, so much the better.. Thank you as always for your continued positive comments.
      Keep well my friend,
      Jack.

Leave a Reply

