The Mountain

      My friend Mary, (see Mary’s Limerick) asked me for a prayer poem for her dear friend Barbara who is currently undergoing chemotherapy for cancer. Barbara has already beaten another type of cancer, but is now gearing up for another tough battle. The following is dedicated to her and to all of those people who fight that fight everyday. God Bless you all. “Strive to Survive”

       I know that I have some readers out there that have a direct line to the Lord’s ear, so I’d like to ask them, and the rest of us as well,  for a word or two on behalf of those who find themselves in struggles similar to Barbara’s.

     Thank you so much,

Jake. 

The Mountain

 I stood atop the mountain

and I looked God in the eye.

And I said, “Oh Lord, forgive me

on this, the day I die.

He just smiled and took my hand,

and sent me on my way.

It’s not your time to be here”

is what I heard Him say.

He said, “listen to your heart

and hear your brother’s cry.

You’ve got some time ahead of you,

give life, another try.”

When I awoke, I felt great peace,

as if my soul was new.

But, I stood atop that mountain,

and that, I swear is true!

Jack Downing

June 2012

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 8/9/13

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in God, health care, mountains, spiritual, women and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Mountain

  1. loopyloo305 says:

    Beautiful Jake, she will be in my prayers! God bless you!

  2. Roly says:

    Reblogged this on Living With Myositis and commented:
    For all the sick whether mental or physical here’s a poem prayer from a friend

  3. Denise Downing says:

    Hi this is great. What’s up?

    Been down cape. How is everything with you guys

    Sent from my iPad

    • I have sent you a couple of e-mails or responses to your recent comments on my blog, but never heard back from you. I know you had the clan for a while down there, so I figured you were pretty busy. Things are the same here, nothing really changes all that much, but sometimes that’s not a bad thing you know.. Thank you by the way for your positive feedback on what I’ve posted lately.. How have you been? I hope you are feeling great and you are resting now. We’ll talk soon, okay. Jake.

Leave a Reply

