The Prize

     Okay, occasionally I do write a romantic type poem, and that is the case with this one. For those of you who are drawn to the mushy, then this is for you.. I expect that there’ll be some “ooooh Jake” comments. But don’t get used to this romantic side of me, it doesn’t show itself very often.

     Please read and comment if you will,

Jake.

Love is the ultimate prize

Love is the ultimate prize

The Prize

 I cannot race the wind

that’s going nowhere.

I cannot count the stars

up in the sky.

I cannot walk on water

though I would dare.

For if you are my reward,

by God I’ll try.

***

 Jack Downing

June 2012

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 8/5/13

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in God, passion, stars above, Success, true love and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Prize

  1. loopyloo305 says:

    Wonderful!!! Who could possibly ask for more!

  2. Beth Ann says:

    OOOhhhhhh Jake! I love the mushy side of your poetry! This was very sweet. Made me smile all over.

    • That’s what I’m here for to make people smile, chortle, guffaw, laugh and all things happy, happy, happy. Except for when I get into the political and/or the other dark-sided material..lol Thanks for the OOOhhhhh Jake though.

  3. Denise Downing says:

    Wow impressive

    Sent from my iPad

  4. Mary says:

    Hey Jack,
    Very Meaningful. Miss you, Mary

    • Thanks Mary. I wish you were still here, you were the voice of reason. I think I’ll post “Mary’s Limerick” in your honor and remembrance of the “old days”. I hope you are still liking what you are doing and that all is well with you..

Leave a Reply

