My Daddy Was A Wise Man

     In honor of Father’s Day, I will re-blog this poem in memory of my dad, afterall he was the inspiration for it.

     Thanks dad, may you rest in peace.

Jack.

Thank you dad!            RIP

Thank you dad!
RIP

MY DADDY WAS A WISE MAN

I remember my daddy sayin’

you should be outside, and playin’,

not sittin’ around the house

all afternoon.

There is gonna come a day

when you won’t have the time to play,

and believe me son, that time

is comin’ soon.

*

Yeah, I’m afraid you’re gonna find

not too much farther, down the line,

that life won’t leave you

with much time for fun.

So grab your glove and baseball bat

find your friends, and remember that

the times are best, when you’re out,

in the sun.

*

Or, get your fishin’ pole and bike

and find a fishin’ hole you like,

where you and your pals

can catch, a fish or two.

‘Cause there won’t be much time for fishin’

only time for dreams and wishin’,

and you grow up and work,

is all you do.

*

So, get out and enjoy the day

they are fleeting and this I’ll say,

the sun don’t shine so bright

when the bills are due.

Now, that was quite awhile ago

my daddy’s gone but this I know,

he was the smartest man,

I ever knew.

 *

I got married and had two boys

I worked two jobs to buy them toys

that are stacked up in the attic,

to the peak.

They are now away at college

but, they’ll never have the knowledge

that I got when I listened,

to my daddy speak.

*

Yes, I remember those happy times

with bicycles and fishin’ lines,

and baseball gloves and caps

of my favorite team.

It was my daddy’s words to me

that provided all these memories,

yes, my daddy was a wise man,

it would seem.

*

Yes, my daddy was a wise man,

it would seem.

Yes, he was a wise man,

it would seem.

He was, the wisest man,

I’ve ever seen.

Yes, my daddy was a wise man,

it would seem!

***

Jack Downing

July 2009

                                                                                                                                  

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 6/15/13

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Americana, children, college, education, Family, Father, history, life, Mother, old days, poet, poor land and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My Daddy Was A Wise Man

  1. loopyloo305 says:

    Wonderful poem Jake, he sound like a wonderful man. You are a very fortunate man my friend. God bless you!

  2. A fine tribute to simple but meaningful wisdom from a man obviously in touch.

  3. Denise Downing says:

    Remember the words seize the moment get out and explore the world.

    Love you

    Sent from my iPad

  4. Pingback: Sunday morning comin strong; prayers goin UP | Dr. Sherry E. Showalter - "Keepin It Real"

  5. Pingback: Happy Father’s Day – Daddy, a poem | Muse In The Valley ©

  6. Pingback: A Letter to my Dad | The Dreamweaver's Cottage

  7. Beth Ann says:

    What a nice tribute!

    • Thank you Beth Ann, it is such a shame that kids today spend more time indoors than out in the good weather.. When I drive by empty baseball fields all trimmed and well kept, I think of times when I was a kid and my friends and I would have loved to have those fields to play on instead of the rock strewn parks and makeshift diamonds that we had. We had to get out or we would have been given work to do.. I chose to play instead of work. I still do when I can. LOL

Leave a Reply

