So I’ve Been Told

     We’ve all heard the old sayings, adages, and wive’s tales. Some have been found to be true, but in general, well…

I’m hoping to put a smile on your faces today,

Jake.

Can you believe It?

Can you believe It?

So I’ve Been Told

 Well touchin’ frogs

and wiggly worms

didn’t give me warts,

or terrible germs.

I didn’t catch my death

not wearin’ a hat

never got bad luck

from a big black cat.

And though I dotted my tees

and I crossed my eyes

they didn’t stay that way,

but that’s no surprise.

Because I’ve heard this stuff

since I was two

and I’ve discovered,

they’re mostly not true.

You see, I’ve killed a spider

and it didn’t rain,

and when I stepped on a crack

mother felt no pain.

But I did find out

about sticks and stones

and it really is a fact

they can break your bones.

But, that words won’t hurt you

is an incredible lie,

’cause I’ve seen big girls

and grown men cry.

So though mostly I think

they are just a crock,

but I ain’t takin’ no chances

so on wood I’ll knock!

Jack Downing

May 2013

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD. 5/29/13

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Animals, cats, good luck, history, humor, in my opinion, old days, reflections, thoughts, truth. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to So I’ve Been Told

  1. Beth Ann says:

    I love this one!!!! What a creative way to address all those old wive’s tales or whatever they are!!!

Leave a Reply

