A Mother’s Gift

     My mother, Marie Downing, died on May 9th, 2009 just before Mother’s Day. I wrote this poem in her honor shortly thereafter. Every word of it is the truth. May she rest in peace amongst the angels.

     I would like to take this opportunity to wish all of the mothers who read these words, a very happy Mother’s Day. I would also like to suggest to the rest of you, that if your mom is still with you, treat her special today and everyday, for as long as you can,  for you will miss her dearly when she’s gone.. I know!

 

A Mother’s Gift

You filled a space

no other could,

you taught me always

think the good,

of those I meet

along the way,

and that sunrise brings

a whole new day.

To dwell not upon

a hurt or slight,

and let the heart decide

the wrong or right,

of what I do

or what is done,

then let it go

with the setting sun.

But, of all the lessons

I have learned,

there’s but one, upon

my soul’s been burned,

there is no stronger

force on earth,

nor gift, of any

greater worth.

Than a mother’s love

that’s given free,

to each of us

for eternity,

and wavers not

in life or death,

it never takes

a final breath.

***

Jack Downing

May 2009

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 5/12/13

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in demise, education, Elders, Family, history, mourning, old days, poet, soul, truth and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Mother’s Gift

  1. Beth Ann says:

    Such a sweet tribute. I love it. I still have my mom with me and I count myself very blessed in every way!

    • Yes, I know that your mom is still very much alive and well. I saw the picture that you posted on fb today. God bless you all.. And thanks for the comment as well. Happy Mother’s Day to you and yours.

      ________________________________

  2. cdnpearly says:

    A great poem for a great woman…she is missed…

    • Thanks Pearl, yesterdayI happened to look at the book that you had published for me,and your picture of her on the lastpagewas stunning, thank you so much for that. Happy Mother’s Day to you and I hope that they are going to take good care of you today. Love, The East Coast Downings.

      ________________________________

  3. adeeyoyo says:

    The perfect tribute to all mothers’ love. Beautiful write, Jake!

    • Thank you Denise, as I said, every word of it is the truth. My mom had a forgive and forget, golden rule, type ofoutlook on life. We, (my brothers and sister) were raised withthat type of attitude, and it has served us all very well.. Thanks again for your kind words. Jake.

      ________________________________

  4. Sally says:

    Jack, each year when I read your poem about your Mom I smile.. I can only hope my children feel the same about my motherly skills and respect that you feel and felt for your Mom. Thankyou…

    • Sal, I’m sure that they will. A mother’s love is a special thing, andmaybe we don’t express our feelingsenough, for whatever reason,but we, as sons and daughters carry that love all the days of our lives. Thank you so much for your flattering comment.

      ________________________________

  5. Denise Downing says:

    Great

    Sent from my iPad

    • What? One word? “Great”? Is that all you got? But seriously,thanks, I’m glad you liked it. How are you? I didn’t get a chance to answer your voice mail yesterday, you were right we were out with Rachel and Gregg celebrating Mother’s Day at the La Cantina. How was your weekend down the Cape? If I don’t hear from you,(and even if I do)I hope your week is as wonderful as you are.. Love you, Jake.

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

