Random Thoughts

     This was one of the first of my attempts at writing, again it was my idea of song lyrics. Hey, I still hear the tune in my head when I read it, but you don’t have to, but please, just take notice of the message.

Please enjoy,

Jake.

Don't look back. Something might be gaining on you.  ~Satchel Paige~

Don’t look back. Something might be gaining on you.
~Satchel Paige~

RANDOM THOUGHTS

I thought I’d be a millionaire,

I thought I’d go to Spain.

I thought I’d have a summer home,

along the coast of Maine.

I thought I’d be a happy man,

if I had all the gold.

But I never thought, that I’d be, growing old.

 *

I thought the world was mine alone,

just laid there at my feet.

I thought that I was born to win,

and never taste defeat.

I thought that I would always be,

adventurous and bold.

But I never thought, that I’d be, growing old.

*

I thought I’d write a journal,

of my exotic trips.

I thought I’d travel round the world,

on planes and trains and ships.

I thought the world, would surely beg,

my stories to be told.

But I never thought, that I’d be, growing old.

*

I thought I’d be forever young,

I thought I’d cruise through life.

I thought I’d have a beauty queen,

for my loving wife.

I thought that she would be so sweet,

and never quick to scold.

But I never thought, that I’d be, growing old.

*

I thought I’d be a lucky man,

I thought I’d know no pain.

I thought my days, would be all sun,

and never have no rain.

I thought I’d be the kind of man,

who would not be, bought or sold.

But I never thought, that I’d be, growing old.

 *

 But, now this thought, occurs to me,

as the years unfold,

the friends you make, throughout your life,

are worth much more than gold.

So never let them get away,

keep them in your fold.

And you, won’t be alone, when growing old.

 ***

Jack Downing

Oct. 2008

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD. 4/23/13

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Elders, humor, life, lifetime, ships, song writer, Songs and Dances, Success, wealth and worth, Words on Wanderings. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Random Thoughts

  1. Great poem! Great truths!

    • Thanks so much, Frankie. Misconceptionsof life and living,always suffer at the hands of reality. It is said that ‘time heals all wounds’.. But in my opinion, it will not erase the self-inflictedscar. As W.Shakespearealso penned, ‘…. andto thine own self, be true.’

      ________________________________

      • Totally agree! I love re-reading this poem. It reminds me that regardless of the season of life, stay focused on what’s truly important!

      • Thanks so much Frankie. It says that no matter what ‘things’ we dream of, wish for, or justwant, sometimes it’shuman contact that we need the most,even more than the so called”good things” in life, and that it may take some ofus longer to figure that out.. Btw Frankie, thanks for coming on-board, I’m so happy that you think enough of what you’ve read to subject yourself tofurther torture. Jake.

        ________________________________

      • Ha ha, look forward to more of your writing!

      • Be careful what you wish for Frankie.. lol

        ________________________________

  2. adeeyoyo says:

    Excellent one, Jake.

  3. yearstricken says:

    Perfect sentiments for growing….o-l-d.

  4. Sally says:

    Of all you wrote the only thing I ever knew for sure was I would grow old!!

    • I guess deep down I knew, but I didn’t give it a whole lot of thought until I startedcreaking andgroaningwith every little movement.. lol Oh yeah, and my wife says I’m getting grouchy in my old age. I just tell her to shut up and mind her own business..(Yeah, right sure I do!)

      ________________________________

  5. Keven Barton says:

    use them. Besides, that song is not your song; it doesn’t say what YOU want to say. And speaking of COPYRIGHT… Before you show your lyric or melody to a collaborator, enter it in a contest, or otherwise spread it around, copyright it with the Library of Congress. You’ll find a printable form, FAQ, and instructions at the Copyright Office Web site. There’s a fee for each form you file, but you can register groups of lyrics or songs on a single form. There’s also an e-filing service at the at the same web site. Just click on “Electronic Copyright office.” Back to the hunt for collaborators… Idea #1: There is an excellent site for songwriters called The Muses Muse with a great e-newsletter and very active message boards. You can get feedback on your lyrics and look for collaborators. The Great American Song Contest has a category for lyrics only. It’s a great way to get your lyrics out into the world and attract collaborators. Idea #2: Check out the Collaboration Corner at TAXI.com . You don’t have to be a TAXI member to join in the forum discussions and meet collaborators. Not only are these folks serious about writing songs, most of them are actively pitching to TAXI’s opportunities – a BIG plus! Idea #3: Go to the clubs and concerts in your area that feature local bands. When you find a band playing the kind of music you’re interested in, ask if they’re willing to work with an outside writer. When they tell you they write all their own songs, tell them you’d like to collaborate on songs you can pitch to publishers for other artists. They’ll be interested, believe me! Idea #4: Check out local music stores. They usually have a guitar or piano teacher or will put you in touch with one. The teacher might be interested in writing with you or may know a student who is looking for a collaborator.

Leave a Reply

