The Tears I Weep

     I wrote this last year in the wake of the “Batman” movie massacre, but as the events of this week here in Boston unfolded, it became increasingly clear that it applied to so many tragedies that are being perpetrated upon the innocent by the criminally insane. May God bless all of the victims of senseless violence everywhere. And while we are at it, let us not forget those who perished on September 11, 2001. May they rest in eternal peace.

Sincerely, 

Jake.

The Tears I Weep

The tears I weep

are sorrowful tears

shed for the innocent

of the few, or many years.

Together joined

in eternal passage

they went not in peace

but by the savage.

***

Jack Downing

July 23, 2012

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 4/21/13

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in blood and gore, environment, God, history, innocent deaths, life, massacre, peace, September 11, The Commandments and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Tears I Weep

  1. Beth Ann says:

    I can’t “like” this post because it makes me sad. What I keep trying to focus on is the positive things that we are seeing come our of tragedies—renewed solidarity and support of those in need. Been a tough week, for sure, but the spirit is strong!

  2. Sally says:

    So true…So sad…So tragic….So ..So…Pointless……

Leave a Reply

