Global Warming Mr. Gore?

     In honor of our dear friends in the upper mid-west and others who seem to be unable to shake off the long, long winter. I give you this:

Jake.

"Hell No We Won't Go!!"

“Hell No We Won’t Go!!”

Global Warming Mr. Gore?

Please tell me again

Mr. Gore,

just what it was, you said,

we had in store.

Global warming, was it now?

Well, my driveway

needs a plow,

and the calendar, says it’s now,

June twenty-four!

*

I’ll admit to some exaggeration

on my part,

but this morning, my car

was hard to start.

But, the defroster worked okay,

the ice was thin

and went away,

without a lot of strain

upon my heart!

*

 So please won’t you tell me

what you think.

My swimming pool

is now a skating rink.

And though it’s past

mid-June,

I hope it’s coming soon,

’cause if this keeps up

I’m gonna need a shrink!

*

 But I think I know the reason,

so I will now begin,

 to explain, and offer you

a somewhat different spin.

I believe it was the “oil” guys

who patched the hole, up in the skies

to keep us cold,

and keep their record profits

coming in!

***

Jack Downing

June 2009

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 4/17/13

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Americana, common cold, Earth and Us, environment, humor, life, mischievious, political, Summer, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Global Warming Mr. Gore?

  1. Roberta says:

    Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you writing this write-up and the rest of the website is also really good.

    • Why thank you Roberta, I’m happy that you enjoyed it. It was written a few years ago when our weather here in New England was being, well, New England(ish). It was tongue-in-cheek but it was also a response to the bs that was being spouted. The earth has a natural rhythm to her climate(s) and nature does not need our help with it, after all look at the mess we make of everything else the politicians get involved in..lol Thanks again for your kind words. Jake.

Leave a Reply

