We Shall Overcome

Being from Boston, I was as stunned and repulsed as anyone, (except for the victims of course) by the events of yesterday’s bombings at the Marathon’s finish line. I asked myself “what kind of person/animal would attack innocent people participating or spectating in one the most non-violent of all past times?” I still don’t understand what was to be gained by this horrendous and cowardly act! I do pray that whomever is responsible for it is captured and punished to the full measure of our laws. God will do the rest..

We here in the United States have the most lenient of all punishments for criminal acts, perhaps it is time to change those laws when it involves terrorizing the populace. I just wonder if there would be less of an outcry for gun control if an armed citizen had shot the terrorist before he could have set off the second bomb..

God be with the victims and their loved ones, the prayers of a nation and the world go out them. And may God be with our law enforcement officials who are charged with the task of discovery.

Jake.

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to We Shall Overcome

  1. Beth Ann says:

    I have thought about you and your family ever since the first alert came through on my phone….your words are true and our prayers are with all affected by this latest senseless drama that we see playing out.

    • Thank you Beth Ann, for your thoughts and well wishes. I noticed yesterday, that Becky had commented on your blog and I thought about her running last year and wondered if she had decided to do it again. I’m glad that her experience with the marathon was a happy one. May God be with all of the victims and their families and friends.

  2. Mary says:

    Hi Jack, I’m glad that your family is safe. Mine is too.

    However, a pool clerk from Arlington’s son was hit and his leg was amputated. He has other injuries as well. I think his Mom’s name is Maureen Fucarelli.

    Also, clerk Elaine Slattery’s niece was killed. Very sad stuff.

    The only positive thing for me is that I received a call and an email from a past union committee member. She’s from North Carolina and we’ve kept in contact over the years. She was genuinely concerned for my family and friends safety.

    My faith in humanity lives on although my disdain for evil is paramount.

    I miss you and the N’West platform, but, the time flies @ the GMF cuz I’m busy, busy, busy! I still see Brian, Skipper and Ahn which is nice. Ahn is a Postal MVS driver!

    Barry warned me about how much work the GMF platform entailed. He was right. I’m not a lazy expeditor anymore! I am taking the commuter rail right to South Station. 35 minutes and I’m there from home to work! Today, though, we skipped Back Bay Station they had us exiting the train about 100 yards from South Station. We were met by Police at tables with portable x-ray machines on tables. Not necessary but at least they are at the ready.

    Then my co-worker went to South Station for coffee and he came back with news of Bomb Sniffing Dogs, Police, MBTA Police and lots of cops, fbi, cia,!

    • Mary, I’m glad that you and your family are okay, and I am saddened by the newos of Elaine’s niece, I assume she was the Campbell girl from Arlington, what a beautiful, vivacious young life wasted.. Her mother was on the news tonight with a heart wrenching statement about her.. I am also so sorry to hear of the tragic injuries to Maureen’s son. May God be with all of them and their families in this time of sorrow.

      I will not tell Barry he was right about anything, he’s already convinced himself that he’s omnipotent.. However I’m happy to hear that you are adapting well to your current assignment.. I will continue to send you pertinent and tasteful e-mails… Yeah right, and all the other stuff too, so don’t worrry.. BTW, Barry has poor Tom Wilson as his personal toady.. When you walk in the office, it’s like they are Siamese twins, joined at the shoulder. Too funny. Say hi to Ahn for us okay. Keep in touch.

  3. yearstricken says:

    I didn’t realize you are from Boston. What a tragic day for our whole nation.

    • There have been way too many tragedies lately, but I thank you for your concern. We, (the country) will see this through but we probably will lose a bit more of our liberty. Our enemies, foreign and domestic, will only succeed if we allow them to alter our way of life.. God save America.

Leave a Reply

