A Seasonal View

     I wrote this the other day in response to my friend Denise over at Adeeyoyo’s Blog. (Though it has been edited and revised somewhat from the original.) She was bemoaning the departure of summer with autumn impending, and of course, the ensuing winter there in the southern hemisphere. While we here in the northern hemisphere are having the opposite effect. Winter just won’t go away!! More snow is scheduled for the upper midwest (USA) again this week and sleet and freezing rain expected in New England by Thursday/Friday. It was 74 degrees f. in Boston on Tuesday and I was looking at new BBQ grills, now I’m looking for ice-melt. I hope I don’t have to re-blog, “Global Warming Mister Gore?” again this year. (If that piqued your curiosity, check out the archives from either June 18, 2011, or July 18, 2012.)

     Wherever you are I hope you will be safe and warm today, and always.

Jake. 

I have no woe to see winter go.

I have no woe to see winter go.

A Seasonal View

Old man winter

arrives swift and sprite.

And seemingly through

just one passing night.

While summer’s maiden’s return

is plagued by delay,

but she’ll depart right on schedule.

Nothing stands in her way!

Jack Downing

Apr. 2013

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 4/10/13.

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Earth and Us, environment, fleeting time, humor, life, mischievious, poet, Seasons, wishing, Words on Wanderings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Seasonal View

  1. Beth Ann says:

    I am so wanting summer to come. Heck I would settle for spring at this point!!!

  2. Sally says:

    Isn’t that the truth!!

    • I’m afraid so… Short and sweet is summer’s heat, but winter’s grip, tenacious. Sping has promise, but soon autumn’s upon us, and all but damn winter betrayed us.

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

