A Crooked Trail

     If I cannot create something new, then the least I can do is offer you something that I have posted before and that I am proud to have written, (believe me there is a lot on the other side of the ledger as well) and this is one of those. For your reading pleasure I give you “A Crooked Trail”

     I will leave you with an old *Pirate blessing. May your days be filled with wonder and your holds be filled with plunder… Mateys.

Jake.

* There is no such thing.. Unless of course, there were Irish pirates.

What lies beyond the crest.

There was a crooked man…

A Crooked Trail

I have sailed

a sinking ship,

upon a crooked course.

I have rode†

a crooked trail,

upon a rocking horse.

I have straddled

the straight and narrow,

never finding end or source.

But, I pray to God

that when I do,

I do so, without force.

~ ~ ~

 I have walked

a rugged road,

on the uphill side and down.

I have run

from life and love,

not knowing where I’m bound.

I have learned

the greatest pains,

are borne without a sound.

But, I have felt

the Grace of God

in all of those surrounds.

~ ~ ~

Yet, I have not seen

the end of days,

my journey is not end.

So on this crooked

trail I go,

on to the nearing bend.

Until the day

I travel not,

and on God, I will depend.

 to light the way

beyond this place,

and show me where I’ve been.

~ ~ ~

 Jack Downing

Apr. 2012

Poetic license in effect, I know that it should read; ‘I have ridden’, in the first stanza, but tough, I like it this way..

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 4/4/13

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Animals, God, history, humor, Irish descent, life, Life's Journey, ships, spiritual, Words on Wanderings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Crooked Trail

  1. adeeyoyo says:

    I also like taking liberties with words, Jake, and the more I do it the more I like it, lol!

    • You are a rebel Denise.. I had one the other day in which I used a “word” resultancy, I even asked the person whomI was communicating with, if it was a word.. I play words with friends on facebook and she is pretty consistent in kicking my butt with words I, or even Mr. Webster, had ever heard of before. lol. Have a great day..

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

