The Salty Dog

     For those who miss the ocean, and their home.. A little something light.

Happy Wednesday,

Jake.

Seaside wishing

A home away from home

THE SALTY DOG

 Now, whenever I get the notion,

that I miss being near, the ocean,

I just head downtown,

to a bar called the “Salty Dog”.

 *

You know, it’s nowhere near salt water,

but it’s my rock of Gibraltar,

’cause there are many like it,

where I come from.

*

 Yeah, I grew up on Cape Cod,

where me and my dad, with our fishin’ rods,

would try to catch those stripers,

when they’d run.

*

I remember the day he told me,

“son, if you go to sea, go boldly.”

So, I spent some time in the Navy,

way back when.

 *

Now, I’ve been so many places,

and I’ve seen so many faces,

and the “Salty Dog” brings back,

fond memories of them.

*

It’s owned by Vincent Gill,

but, he’s known as Captain Bill.

And just why that is,

is still a mystery.

*

He’s got a male dog he calls Gerty,

he’s got a parrot, that talks dirty,

and that bird knows words,

that even embarrass me.

 *

It’s got that seacoast feelin’,

fishin’ nets, on the ceilin’,

and the restrooms are for the use,

of buoys and gulls.

*

 And there’s a ship’s bell, that he rings,

when it’s time for the band to sing.

And he needs it ’cause the ‘Dog’,

is never dull.

*

Yes, now I’m out here on the plains,

but, the ocean’s still in my veins.

And I know I’m gonna,

see it once again.

*

Yeah, I know for sure one day,

I’m gonna up and sail away.

But I’ll hang out at,

the “Salty Dog” til then.

 *

With the Captain and the parrot,

and my friends.

Yeah, the Captain and that parrot,

are my friends.

***

 Jack Downing

                                                                         Nov. 2008

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 3/27/13

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Americana, Animals, history, humor, Land Lubbers, Saint Elmo, seafarers, ships, Songs and Dances, tavern and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Salty Dog

  1. This made my day, thanks Mr. Downing! 😊

  2. Sally says:

    Fast to read ,quick to comprehend and visions of you smiling!!

Leave a Reply

