My Life’s Path

     A Sunday morning thought..

Ready or not, here I come.

As I travel on the path of life, I’ve known not hate, I’ve known not strife..

My Life’s Path

I cannot help but ponder

the path that I have taken,

to bring me now

through all my living days.

 Why the hills I’ve had to climb

have ne’er been mountains,

nor my road be strewn with rocks,

along the way?

 *

Why my burdens had small weight

as I have traveled,

and a heavy heart

not borne for very far?

 Could it have been an angel sent

to guide and guard me?

Or was I just born beneath,

some lucky star?

 *

But if it be, that I was blessed Divinely

then I’d ask Him,

why have You kept me safe,

through all these years?

 Why, when I see the torments

of so many,

why then have You spared me,

from their tears?

 *

But, the answers to my questions

are elusive,

 and I fear that there’s no way

I’ll ever know.

 Not at least, until my journey

has its ending,

and I have or not,

a somewhere else to go.

 ***

Jack Downing

Jan. 2013

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD. 3/24/13

My Life’s Path

I cannot help but ponder

the path that I have taken

to bring me now,

through all my living days.

Why the hills I’ve had to climb

have ne’er been mountains,

nor my road be strewn with rocks,

along the way?

Why my burdens had small weight

as I have traveled,

and a heavy heart

not borne for very far?

Could it have been an angel sent,

to guide and guard me?

Or was I just born beneath

some lucky star?

But if it be, that I was blessed Divinely

then I’d ask Him,

why have You kept me safe,

through all these years?

Why, when I see the torments

of so many,

why then have you spared me

from their tears?

But, the answers to my questions

are elusive,

and I fear that there’s no way

I’ll ever know.

Not at least, until my journey

has its ending,

and I have, or have not

a somewhere else to go.

Jack Downing

Jan. 2013

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD.

My Life’s Path

I cannot help but ponder

the path that I have taken

to bring me now,

through all my living days.

Why the hills I’ve had to climb

have ne’er been mountains,

nor my road be strewn with rocks,

along the way?

Why my burdens had small weight

as I have traveled,

and a heavy heart

not borne for very far?

Could it have been an angel sent,

to guide and guard me?

Or was I just born beneath

some lucky star?

But if it be, that I was blessed Divinely

then I’d ask Him,

why have You kept me safe,

through all these years?

Why, when I see the torments

of so many,

why then have you spared me

from their tears?

But, the answers to my questions

are elusive,

and I fear that there’s no way

I’ll ever know.

Not at least, until my journey

has its ending,

and I have, or have not

a somewhere else to go.

Jack Downing

Jan. 2013

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD.

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in God, heart and soul, joy and sorrow, life, lifetime, mountains, poet, Spirits, tears, Why is it? and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Life’s Path

  1. adeeyoyo says:

    Well, Jake, if I didn’t know I’d not been drinking I would blame it on the booze, but why is your question posted three times? Good, better, best… from the bottom up. I do like it very much and agree we will never know until this life is over.

    • Oooops, my fault, I upgraded it twice after it was posted, the first time, I didn’t realize that it was being published separately, I was thinking that it would just correct the original. If it wasn’t so early in the day, I WOULD blame it on the drinking.. But alas, just human error in its natural state. Thank you for the like though and showing me the error of my ways..

  2. Sally says:

    And I just thought it was my loss of control of my mouse and my vast computer skills!!

  3. Sally says:

    Thanks Buddy…………

Leave a Reply

