The Oath

     God Bless America, and her veterans, for they were there for her then and they are here for her now.. THANK YOU from those  of us, who really appreciate your service to our country! Hoorah!

God Bless the Veteran

To Defend and Protect.

The Oath

When I swore the oath

to protect and defend

there was not mention

of duration nor end.

I pledged my allegiance

for all of my days

to this great nation of ours

and our American ways.

To defend her from enemies

from without and within

and by all that is holy

I swear, they’ll not win.

For I stand not alone

in this perpetual fight

for justice and liberty

and our God-given rights.

I stand with my comrades

whose word is their bond

and we will keep to that oath

to the grave and beyond.

***

Jack Downing

Mar. 2013

Remember your oath!

Remember your oath!

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 3/22/13

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Americana, blessings, Freedom, God, history, land of the free, lifetime, men, military/veterans, women and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Oath

  1. adeeyoyo says:

    So many people don’t think about the whole meaning of vows they make, Jake.

  2. Sally says:

    OATHS AND VOWS TOO EASY TO FORGET TODAY ..SAD BUT TRUE..EXCELLENT AS USUAL!!

Leave a Reply

