When Next I Go

     After the frivolity of St. Patrick’s Day, and with the seasons of Easter and Passover upon us, I thought something a little more spiritual may be in order.

      I hope you like it,

      Jake.

Homecoming

Are You Worthy?

When Next I Go

My eyes stared up through the light

so brilliant, and yet soothing,

at once, in comfort and cooling,

and I bore not one, single fright.

At peace now, at last were I

so I could not carry a fear,

for I felt that God was near,

as my soul bid my body, goodbye.

‘Twas then I heard the angels sing

Hallelujah, Hallelujah, He has come,

to welcome a faithful one,”

and through that light, saw all things.

*

As it was then, I awoke,

completely in sweat,

and with too, the linens now wet,

still trembling at the words that He spoke.

You are not now worthy to enter

but another chance I give,

for you to live,

and to place Me at your center.”

But, the time that is given you

is not yours to waste,

not all of the fruits should you taste,

if it’s these gates, that you wish to pass through.”

My breathing was slowly returning

as I pondered His words,

not worthy I’d heard,

and I thought of eternity burning.

I have the belief in my core,

but now I need it to show,

that when next I will go,

it exudes like this sweat, from each pore.

***

Jack Downing

Dec. 2011

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD. 3/21/13

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in joy and sorrow, judgement, life, Music, peace, repent, salvation, Sleep, soul, Spirits and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When Next I Go

  1. adeeyoyo says:

    When the end comes I doubt there will be any second chances, Jake.

Leave a Reply

