A Saint Patrick’s Day Continuum

     A few more “blessings” and the like, as a lead-in to St. Patrick’s Day weekend, for your amusement, pondering and reading enjoyment.

Blessings of the season

Blessings of the season

Sal’s Blessing

May you live your life

in your own way.

And may that way

be with style and with grace.

Then be it Heaven or Hell

that you go to,

you’ll go with a smile

on your face.

***

Jack Downing

Nov. 2012

……………………………………………………………………………..

RACHEL’S WELCOME

You’re welcome here,

our friends so dear.

 Come in and rest,

your bones.

 And while you’re here,

 be of good cheer.

 and remember well,

our home.

***

 Jack Downing

May 2009

 …………………………………………………………………………………………………

BLESSING OR CURSE

 May the rain fall soft, upon your fields,

I’ve heard the Irish say,

but as I watch it fall again,

enough is enough I say.

*

And may the wind, be at your back,

is another thought of theirs,

but, I just heard the oak tree crack,

and it gave me quite a scare.

 *

But if the road should rise to meet me,

then I, will truly fret,

for concrete has, but little give,

grab the family and the pet.

 *

And if I am gone an hour,

before the devil knows I’m gone,

I’m sure that she will find me,

and it shall not take her long.

 ***

 Jack Downing

May 2009

                         ………………………………………………………………………………………..

Denise’s Blessing

 May your days all be filled,

with fortune and love,

with hope, adventure,

and with help from above.

May your cup, be not empty,

may your plate, be not spare,

and may you always have someone,

who loves, and who cares.

 ***

Jack Downing

Dec. 2011

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 3/15/13

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Animals, children, Family, good luck, humor, Irish descent, life, poet, rain, wishing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Saint Patrick’s Day Continuum

  1. Sally says:

    First, Dare I be presumptuous that the first is to me? Second, The devil is a she? Overall very nice blessings, no matter for whom they are named!!

    • Yes, the first is to you.. A while back you said something in a comment that precipitated this. And second, that was written from a husband’s point of view, meaning he can’t get away with anything. His wife knows him too well. Thanks again for the compliments.

Leave a Reply

