In A Time Of Mercy

     It is Sunday morning and a perfect time to post this one again. This was written during a brief, but very trying time in the lives of my family and myself. I won’t go back through the details, but I will just say that it was a period of mourning that brought about a self-inspection and a realization that life is so fragile and death is so unpredictable. During this self-inspection, I realized also, that God may have to be a little more forgiving of me than I would had thought.

Please say a prayer, for someone today, as we are all in need of any help that we can get.

Thank you,

Jake.

IN A TIME OF MERCY

I know I have no right,

to even ask,

 for more than what’s been given,

in the past,

   and I know, I’m not deserving,

 still, I’ll plea,

 in a time of mercy,

  think of me.

 *

    I have sinned, more times,

   than I can count,

   the Commandments, to me,

  not paramount,

   but, I am sorry now,

    as sorry, as can be,

    in a time of mercy,

   think of me.

 *

    I must ask forgiveness,

  for all I’ve done,

  I’ve let You down,

    a lot more times, than one,

     more times, than leaves,

  upon a tree,

    in a time of mercy,

   think of me.

 *

                                                      Oh, I could have done much better,

with my life,

     and I know, I would’ve had,

a lot less strife,

I should have been more,

of what You’d want of me,

in a time of mercy,

think of me.

 *

I know if I repent,

I’ll save my soul,

my body, and my spirit,

will be whole,

so when I die,

and You, I go to see,

in a time of mercy,

think of me.

 *

Lord of mercy,

think of me.

Oh, please, have mercy,

Lord on me,

in that time of mercy,

think of me.

***

Jack Downing

May 2009

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 1/27/13

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in demise, Family, God, repent, salvation, soul, Spirits, spiritual, Sunday, The Commandments and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to In A Time Of Mercy

  1. Pingback: By His Mercy « D'Avenue Life Encounters [DALE]

  2. Beautiful. This poem ought to be a song. Thanks for pointing me here! 🙂

    \o/

Leave a Reply

