If Only

     If… a word of conditional response without surety.

     If only… two words of unconditional regret or of hope.

Please reflect a bit on this, if you will.

Jake.

If Only

 

If only I had looked

beyond the sunset.

If tomorrow wasn’t just

another day.

If I could’ve only seen

the silver lining,

then I’d not only seen

the clouds of grey.

If I had only viewed

the sunrise,

if as the shining star

to guide my way.

If only I had known

the future,

would I be any different

than today?

 *

If my dreams had held the power

of their promise.

If I had only owned

a crystal ball.

And if had the wisdom

of the prophets,

would I not have sailed,

to every siren’s call?

If only I were privileged

to these answers.

If I had read the writing,

on the wall.

Then whom would be the author

of this story?

For, it would not be me then,

after all.

***

 Jack Downing

Nov. 2012

 

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 1/26/13.

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in apparitions, Earth and Us, history, life, old days, poet, reflections, seafarers, ships, stars above and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to If Only

  1. AinaBalagtas says:

    If only I could get a handshake from Reverend Jake, oh Jack, I’d be very happy!

Leave a Reply

