A Crooked Trail

     I have been so non-creative lately. No, not much is happening inside the old cranium, the “nutshell” if you will, and even though I’ve been a little bit on the ill side, still I have been very lackadaisical in regard to my writing. Now with that as an excuse, I’ve once more spun the archival wheel and have come up with what I think is a pretty good poem. I hope you do as well.

     Take Tuesday to the limit my friends,

Jake. 

What lies beyond the crest.

There was a crooked man…

A Crooked Trail

 

I have sailed

a sinking ship,

upon a crooked course.

I have rode

a crooked trail,

upon a rocking horse.

I have straddled

the straight and narrow,

never finding end or source.

But, I pray to God

that when I do,

I do so, without force.

 *

I have walked

a rugged road,

on the uphill side and down.

I have run

from life and love,

not knowing where I’m bound.

I have learned

the greatest pains,

are borne without a sound.

But, I have felt

the grace of God

in all of those surrounds.

 Yet, I have not seen

the end of days,

my journey is not end.

So on this crooked

 trail I go,

on to the nearing bend.

Until the day

I travel not,

 and on God, I will depend.

 to light the way

beyond this place,

and show me where I’ve been.

***

 

 Jack Downing

Apr. 2012

 

 

 

Copyright©  Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 1/22/13

 

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Animals, Earth and Us, God, history, humor, Kingdom, life, mountains, poet, Words on Wanderings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Crooked Trail

  1. crooked trail to, in and from DC

  2. belinda says:

    Beautiful! It must have been quite a journey for you…

Leave a Reply

