My Get Up Is Gone

     An ode to the old days as it were.. Most, Some, One of us still thinks  fondly of those good old carefree days when our youth pulled back on the reins of life and tomorrow was just another word for, well, tomorrow and the future meant the weekend. When life was just one big happy cloud of smoke and we always had a lot of  friends who were more than willing to share in that haze. Yes, those were the days weren’t they? At least that’s what I’ve heard, as I really can’t remember much about them, except for some reason, the phrase “oh, wow dude, this is really good sh** ”  Oh, I am sorry, I don’t know where that came from, it just sprang involuntarily from out of the dark recesses. Well anyway, that was back in the day when responsibility meant bringing the “munchies” and beer to the party, and someone would toss a bag on to the table and we’d you’d smoke “weed” until the beer ran out. Please don’t hate me for reminding you of those “happy days” in that time gone by. And also for reminding you, that we all have to grow up sooner or later… We do, don’t we?

      Have some fun with this, but be sure to keep it out of the reach of children,

Jake.

Spark it.

Spark it dude!

My Get Up Is Gone

Cranberries float

to the top of the bog,

and the flea will descend

down deep in the dog.

But it seems that the jump

has gone out of this frog,

and I’m nothing more

than a bump on a log.

*

Now, my get up and go

has got up and gone,

but, I will go find it

when I’m feeling more strong.

But, that may take a while

 Yes, it may be quite long,

 ‘cause I took one more hit,

off of the bong.

***

Jack Downing

June 2012

 

 

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 1/18/13

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in beer, Feast, history, humor, life, marijuana, mischievious, old days, poet, thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to My Get Up Is Gone

  1. kandysparks says:

    Hmmm ‘a time gone by’ I don’t think so, ‘grow up’ yes, forget, no, we just need to visit it less
    often. 😉

  2. adeeyoyo says:

    Lovely, Jake, it has the feel of a song…

  3. Strawberry fields forever.

  4. yearstricken says:

    The jump has gone out of this frog, too. 🙂

  5. Sally says:

    Something else I missed!!

Leave a Reply

