Living Through The Eyes Of Others

    Another of those moralistic poems that I come up with now and then, you know the, “Do as I say and not as I do,” type. But the message is a true one, it tells us that the only opinion of ourselves that really and truly matters, is our own.. If we are content with who we are and we live up to our own expectations, then who can say that we are wrong? Who can tell us we should do this or should do that, because it is  for our own good?  Who should know more about our own good, than ourselves. But that doesn’t mean that we have to settle, on the contrary, it only means that we alone, should decide what is in our best interest, and live our lives accordingly.

I’m stepping down off of the “soap box” now, have a great Thursday,

Jake.

Living Through The Eyes Of Others

Living through the eyes of others,

leaves you feeling,  the lesser,

of brothers.

Then self-doubting sets in,

and it smothers,

the fire and passion,

that is you.

You must look at the world,

through your eyes alone,

and not from that view, ever roam.

For it’s there in your soul,

 where you are at home,

and you’ll find all the things,

that are true.

 ***

 

Jack Downing

Feb. 2012

 

 

 

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 1/17/13

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Earth and Us, help, inner satisfaction, life, men, soul, Success, truth, wishing, women. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Living Through The Eyes Of Others

  1. AinaBalagtas says:

    I love this Jack! Thanks, and warmest regards to Reverend Jake! 😊

    • You, of all our friends know that living up to your own expectations is what is the most important thing in life. Keep on that path.. You will succeed!

      • AinaBalagtas says:

        Unfortunately, Jake, a lot of times, I end up thinking others more than myself. Though, I don’t complain, I do always feel less. Because one of the bitter ironies of life is, you simply can’t please everybody. And there are people who demand a lot, yet they refuse to give. Sucks, but true!

      • Ah, how true my wise friend, but the secret to that is to finally realize who those people are in your life, and what they are doing to YOU, and to distance yourself from them. For they are the ones who will drain you of all your positive energy.. In the end you will just be a sucker to them, if you let that happen. Don’t worry abut them, they will always find another sucker because that’s their nature.. Keep your eye on YOUR goal and grow a thicker skin in regards to your albatross’.. I wish for you, nothing but health and happiness.. Jake.

      • AinaBalagtas says:

        I know Jake. I know my friends; I know you guys. Thank you! 😊

Leave a Reply

