The Seed Of Avarice

     A trip down memory lane this Sunday morning. This poem, concerning greed and greedy people, was written way back in the “Dark Ages” when I first started to write and actually record this junk ah, I mean material, for posterity. But I digress, I think there is something inherently disturbing and yet very sad about greedy and needful people. Perhaps it is the capitalist society in which we live, along with the quest for instant gratification that has some of us looking for the “free and easy” life. Now we’ve all heard the clichés.. “He who dies with the most toys… Wins!” and “Follow the golden rule“… “He who has the gold, makes the rules,” there really are people who believe this, and strive to those ends and will do so, at all costs. Yet maybe, it is the lack of nurturing by flesh and blood that has them seeking, no make that craving, the LOVE, of which they were deprived or are lacking, and use money and/or possessions as a ‘poor’ substitute..

          Please have a safe and sound Sunday,

Jake.

THE SEED OF AVARICE

 

Of all the deadly sins,

the worst is greed.

Always wanting more,

than what you need,

and hatred’s, the bitter fruit,

of its seed.

Give me, give me, give me,

is its creed.

*

Avarice will lead you down

a darkening road

and loneliness will be,

your heavy load.

For family and friendships,

will erode.

Give me, give me, give me,

is its code.

*

No, you’ll never have it all,

though you may try.

Yes, you can own the land,

but you cannot, own the sky.

And happiness, as well,

you cannot buy.

Give me, give me, give me,

is your cry.

*

You cannot, take it with you,

when you’ve gone.

But the seed, you’ve planted here,

 grows on and on.

 Someone, may even want,

what you’ve had on.

Yes, give me, give me, give me,

you’ll have spawned.

*

Oh yes, avarice is the seed,

that you have spawned.

And your give me, give me, give me,

will go on,

for your children will inherit

what you’ve passed on.

And your legacy of avarice,

shall go on.

***

Jack Downing

Feb. 2009

Copyright©  Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD  1/13/13

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in demise, history, in my opinion, life, men, old days, Seven Deadly Sins, truth, wealth and worth, women. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Seed Of Avarice

  1. Michael says:

    Happy Sunday Jack.

  2. Beth Ann says:

    No sermon today, Right Rev???? I liked this early work of yours!!!! Very good and as always—true.

    • Thanks Beth Ann, a few modifications and editing went into it, but thank you as always.. No sermon per se. But a message none the less. Reverend Jake has not contacted me lately, but I’m sure he is on a “mission” of some sort!! lol

  3. loopyloo305 says:

    I like this one very much, it says a lot, God bless you!

Leave a Reply

