The Wisdom Of Santa

     It’s the day after Christmas,*  and as usual I have been visited by the “Jolly Old Elf” himself. He never fails to provide me with gifts, both the utile and the futile, (why can’t instructions EVER be as simple as the people reading them?) the needed and the unexpected, from the mundane to the gadgets, and all are truly welcomed and deeply appreciated. In spite of the tongue-in-cheek nature of this poem, I am as usual, humbled by the thoughts and the gifts of these people with whom God has surrounded me. So here, without further ado, is a great big THANK YOU to all of them, and of course to the one and only, Santa Claus! Who apparently has been incredibly insightful again this year!

     MERRY CHRISTMAS everyone, and a HAPPY NEW YEAR as well,

Jake.     

More than just one day.

Christmas is not a day
it is a feeling.

THE WISDOM OF SANTA

 I ask myself why?

Why am I blessed,

and why has Santa,

 been so good to me?

Year after year,

with nary a rest,

there are presents,

 here under my tree!

 *

But, the presents there wrapped,

with paper and bows,

are not that,

what’s impressive to me.

No, I would suppose,

it’s more, that he knows,

just how deserving,

I be!

***

 Jack Downing

Dec. 31, 2010

* Today, Dec. 26, 2012 would have been my late mother’s 94th birthday. Happy Birthday Mom!  May God Bless you and keep you! We miss you!

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 12/26/12

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Family, God, help, history, humor, men, Nana, peace, Spirits, women and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Wisdom Of Santa

  1. Pingback: Who needs Santa anyway? « Inside Out Cafe

  2. Great poem and how clever of Santa to know how deserving you are! Now on to a new year!

    • I bribe the elves…Works every year.. Thankyouforthe compliment on the poem andyour optimistic view of the New Year. Best wishes for the New Year to you and your family as well. Feel free to comment anytime. Jake.

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

