The Finest Gift

     I know that I published this one back in October of this year as an answer to part one of a two-part series, but it is truly fitting for the Christmas Season as well, and maybe even more so. So please remember the message that it sends; There is more to Christmastime than gifts of worldly measure. Love is the finest gift that anyone can give or receive, so if you have love, give it, and if you receive love, share it..

But, on the material side of things, remember there are only 5 more shopping days ’til Christmas… or 2 more days ’til the apocalypse, which ever comes first.

Enjoy them as best you can,

Jake.

Open your gift of love

Love is the finest gift you can give or receive.

The Finest Gift

 

Send me not, your roses,

nor gifts of glitter gold.

Just bring to me your own true love,

and I’ll pledge to you my soul.

 *

You need not give me silver

nor jewels, of any kind.

Just bring to me your own true love,

to seize my heart and mind.

No, I do not wish your silver,

nor roses, jewels, or gold.

Just bring to me your own true love,

for true love’s not bought or sold.

*** 

Jack Downing

Oct. 2012

 

 

Copyright©  Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 12/19/12

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in children, fine jewelry, God, heart and soul, humor, men, poet, true love, wealth and worth, women and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Finest Gift

  1. AinaBalagtas says:

    I’ve always love you, Jake! You are one of the best, best friend I ever had. Happy holidays to you, to Mrs. Downing too!

    • Aina my dear friend, how are you? I’ve not heard from you in a long time, other than your “likes” on my blog, I do hope you are well. That was a very touching message from you today, I am honored to be your friend, and I wish for you the Merriest of Christmas’ and the happiest New Year ever..

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

