A Christmas Reflection

     I said yesterday that the post I had planned on using for Saturday, would have been inappropriate under the circumstances, so I will save that for next week. This poem however, seems more appropriate now, than when it first came to mind. I do hope you will like it and find something to reflect on as well.

     Please say an extra prayer today for the suffering,

Jake.

The Holy Family

“Glory to the newborn King”

A Christmas Reflection

 

“The world in solemn stillness lay”

upon that premier Christmas Day.

When our Savior was born in Bethlehem,

with “peace on earth, goodwill toward men.”

I think He needs to come again!

 ***

 Jack Downing

Dec. 2012

 

 

Copyright©  Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 12/16/12

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Family, God, history, Kingdom, old days, religion, repent, salvation, spiritual, Sunday and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Christmas Reflection

  1. Mary says:

    Oh Jack,
    It’s been an emotional couple of days for everyone. I called home tonight and my friend Michael answered the phone weeping. He was watching the father of one of the little girls killed yesterday. He had been with his own father getting a christmas tree earlier in the day and hugged and thanked his dad for getting him away from the TV.

    A friend called our house today to invite several friends over tomorrow to gather and basically vent about the latest tragedy, because as she put it, “life is too short”. Several of our friends are teachers and child psychologists who want to prep for monday!

    I feel a real connection with our country and the world with this massacre. Maybe the people leading bloodshed in the current wars will look at this and see that this is what they are doing every day. Killing the innocent.

    Thanks for your blog, I needed to talk to someone cuz every night I get home everyone is asleep!

    • Mary,
      It is so much harder when it involves children. What have they done to deserve having their lives taken from them?
      NOTHING..
      What if, one of those children were to be the one who would have found a cure for cancer or other diseases, or ways to feed all of the world’s hungry, or the architect of a lasting peace? The extent of the damage done there may never be fully known, but the hurt and the sorrow is known by oh, so many.

      They were truly victims of a society gone mad. Anything done to a child, in my mind, is unfathomable. Innocence is too soon lost in the adult world, let them enjoy it while they can. I’m still at a loss as to, why the kids? There has been no explanation to my knowledge as to his motivation in going to that school.. But, I can’t watch the news, the media has become so ghoulish, all the while trying to put on a solemn, I give a damn, face. But the competition to be the first, then get the facts later is leading to misinformation and exaggeration and frankly that sickens me.

      As for needing someone to talk to; I’m here, have at it anytime..
      Jack.

    • Sally says:

      You can always call me!! At any hour..

  2. Beth Ann says:

    Very appropriate poem today. We are all so sad and it is so hard to get past it when it is all over the news . How do those families go on? I just keep wondering how you ever move on. I am praying continually! Thanks for this poem. It was a nice way to start the day.

    • My wife and I were talking yesterday about the destruction of the families involved.
      The Christmas presents ready to be opened by bright eyed, happy innocents. And how the joy of Christmas is now gone from the families, perhaps forever.. And how their faith in God will shaken to its very foundation.

  3. Sally says:

    You always have a way of putting things into perspective … thankyou for trying but this is a tough one…

Leave a Reply

