Christmas Cheer

     It’s close enough to Christmas to start giving you my gifts…. Here is the first one, enjoy it in the best of health.  Hey, I’ll drink to that!

Christmas Cheer

Christmas cheer

is neither wine

nor beer.

Nor eggnog,

laced with brandy.

*

No, it’s not the toddies

nor whiskey,

for that, we know can be risky.

And may lead you,

to acting quite randy.

 *

 You see the spirit’s inside

so there’s no need

to imbibe.

If you let it flow,

from inside to out.

*

And with those

you hold dear,

be of good cheer.

Then you won’t be the one,

talked about.

 ***

 Jack Downing

Dec. 2011

 

 

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 12/14/12

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in beer, Family, health care, humor, Magic line, poet, Seasons, Spirits, Success, whiskey and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Christmas Cheer

  1. oh I like this – good message .. i just so happened to write about Irish Spirits for the Holiday MM today.. lol.. but it wasn;t about getting snockered.. really 😉

    • Yeah, I know… I remember having my first taste of Bailey’s and saying…Wow, what is this stuff? I like it..
      I liked the video about “what you like about the Irish” I laughed out loud when the “guy” said I like their brothers….”

  2. Beth Ann says:

    There seems to be an alcoholic theme flowing here. Your use of the word randy to rhyme with brandy made me guffaw out loud!!! Raising my glass to you—never mind that it is actually a cup of coffee!

Leave a Reply

