Imperfect Deity

     My God along with being merciful, also has a sense of humor, as I have mentioned before. And by god I pray He does, as some of my stuff sometimes tends to be a bit less than spiritually reverend, but in those instances are always meant to be taken in a humorous manner.

     Have a spectacular Sunday everyone,

Jake.

It's just a joke Lord

Oh, I hope He’s smiling!

IMPERFECT DEITY

My God, is a merciful God.

And by god, I pray He be.

However, perfect He ain’t,

or we’d have more saints.

And fewer, the sinners,

like me.

 ***

 Jack Downing

Sept. 2010

 Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 12/9/12

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in blessings, God, humor, life, spiritual, Sunday, thoughts, wishing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Imperfect Deity

  1. Sherry says:

    it’s all in the becoming that God delights in I rather think.

  2. Pingback: imperfected. « Sick with Poetry.

Leave a Reply

