Save It For A Rainy Day

     Wow, looking at the date on this one, I realized that it must have been one of my very first attempts at writing anything. I have also noticed, that I haven’t gotten much better at it, in the process.

     I was thinking that lately the content here has been a bit “heavy” and that it was time to take the edge off. So here is a bit of advice from and old fool. And we all know that there is no fool, like and old fool! Almost every word of this is true, though in actuality I did not waste my money on blondes, (well, not just blondes) and I never really had enough money to consider investing in stocks and bonds… Yeah, I can hear how that conversation might have gone.. “Good Morning, you have reached the offices of  F. N. Theeves, how may I help you?” “Ah, yes I have ten dollars that I’d like to invest. Do you have any suggestions for me?” “Well sir, (snort) have you thought about trying lottery scratch-off tickets?” “Duh, of course I have, how do you think I got the ten bucks in the first place?  Hello, hello, hmph, hello?.. We must have gotten disconnected somehow. Hmmm, did I pay the phone bill last month?”

     Please have a good time with it, and remember it’s not too late to invest in my future.. Send all donations for Jake’s retirement fund to…

     Have a Wickedly Wild Wednesday everyone,

Jake.

And now you're broke too.

Financial Collapse

 SAVE IT FOR A RAINY DAY

I was told to save my money,

save it for a rainy day.

But, I didn’t listen,

I just pissed it all away.

*

And when, on those days, I had some luck,

and found a buck or two,

something always comes along,

to take it all, from you.

*

Now, I thought about investing,

in some stocks and bonds.

But, all I put my money in,

was booze and bars and blondes.

*

So, if you want, to leave your job,

and live life comfortably,

just listen up my friend,

and take a tip, from me.

*

Put a dollar in a jar,

or maybe, two or three.

So, you won’t still be working,

when you are eighty-three.

*

 Yeah, I was told to save my money,

save it for, a rainy day.

But, I didn’t listen,

I just, pissed it all away.

***

Jack Downing

Nov. 2008

Copyright©  Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 12/5/12

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Elders, fleeting time, help, history, humor, mischievious, old days, poet, tavern, wealth and worth and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Save It For A Rainy Day

  1. Sally says:

    Good one!! But you never spent money on me? ha ha

Leave a Reply

