Drinking And Thinking

     We all know someone like this guy, the one who knows everything about everything, and is more than willing to share his or her, (yes, women are not exempt) “expertise” with anyone who will listen. And too often with any who aren’t, especially after a beverage or few has induced and inflicted their (m)ego upon us. Politeness and patience only go so far, that’s all I will say.. 

     I have written this in the first person, although I really cannot relate to this character at all, at least not yet.. I’ve only had one beer, so far..

     Now how appropriate, is this? It’s “Thirsty-Thursday” enjoy it responsibly,

Jake.

DRINKING AND THINKING

[don’t mix]

 Sometimes, when I have had,

a few, too many drinks,

and my tongue,

gets moving faster,

than my mind

can think,

I will speak, on everything,

that on God‘s earth,

does grow.

But mostly I just talk,

on that which I,

don’t know.

 ***

Jack Downing

Aug. 2009

Copyright©  Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 11/29/12

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in beer, bull, humor, men, rum, Spirits, tavern, thoughts, whiskey, women and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Drinking And Thinking

  1. Sally says:

    To the point and extremely correct..It makes me ponder what others ,whom are totally sober and know it all already,do or say when they drink! OMG!!!

Leave a Reply

